Snapchat developers were recently charged with breaches of privacy after the abuse of some employees who basically spied on users came to light. Not very pleasant information, is it? In fact, it is very likely that you are even thinking of leaving this social network and came here to read “How To Delete Snapchat Account 2020“.
Actually, no matter the reason: avoid being seen by public strangers, overcome an internet addiction, or your resolution of 25th birthday. Be that as it may, we will help you Delete Snapchat Account.
How To Delete Snapchat Account
There is nothing to worry about your Snapchat personal data backup because at last, we will share “How to take backup and download your Snapchat data“. So, the issue of backups has been resolved, it is most likely that you proceed with the deletion of your account. Like most social networks, Snapchat first suggests that you simply deactivate your profile before you delete the Snapchat account, so you always have time to change your mind.
If someone asks, “how to delete Snapchat account permanently from the app”, so this is not a valid question because you cannot delete Snapchat account through the application, but you must do it from its official website:
Note: Use your Desktop or Mobile Browser to Delete Snapchat Account
Step 1: Enter http://www.snapchat.com/
Step 2: Scroll down and click “Support“. You can find it under the “Community” heading at the bottom of the page.
Step 3: Click on “My account & Settings“. It will be the third option in the menu that will be on the left side of the page.
Step 4: Click “Account Information“. It will be the first option on the menu. Once you select it, a new menu will appear.
Step 5: Click “Delete my account“. A new page will appear on the right side of the screen.
Step 6: Click the link to delete your account. The link will be at the top, it will say the word “page” and it will be blue. If you can’t find the link, click here to access the account deletion page.
Step 7: Enter your Snapchat username and password.
- If you forgot your password, select the option “Have you forgotten your password?” and follow the instructions sent to your email.
Step 8: Check the box “I’m not a robot“. It will be below your login information. Once you check the box, follow the verification prompts.
Step 9: Click Login. This will load the account deletion page.
Step 10: Enter your Snapchat password. You will have to re-enter your password in order to verify the deletion of your account.
Step 11: Click “Continue“. You will receive verification that your Snapchat account has been deactivated. Your Snapchat account will be deactivated for 30 days. Once this period is over, your account will be deleted.
- Log in to your account at any time during the 30-day period in order to reactivate it.
To know what happens when you delete Snapchat account, you must take a quick look below.
Recover Your Snapchat Account
You can recover your account for the first 30 days after the deactivation date. To do this, access the system through the application with your username and password. The program will ask you to wait a few seconds, then log in again and you’re done! Your account is activated again. All your data, including your profile, will be recovered as if you had never left.
While your account is deactivated, your Snapchat friends will not be able to see you or send you messages. After 30 days, your profile will be permanently deleted and neither you nor the Snapchat team will be able to recover it.
Before jumping into how to delete Snapchat messages, how to delete the Snapchat stories, we must have a look at downloading a backup of Snapchat data.
How To Backup Snapchat Data
Before deleting your Snapchat account, you probably want to save those fun photos and videos you shared, and perhaps other information related to your activity on the social network. Unfortunately, Snapchat does not offer a one-time way to download information, so we have compiled the different options it offers.
1. Set up the backup of your snaps and stories
Snapchat doesn’t save your photos and videos by default. Any Snap that you send to your friends will disappear as soon as they have seen it, and if you publish a Story, it will disappear in 24 hours. There is no way to get them back later.
If you are thinking of leaving the social network, you probably want copies of your available publications. To do this, activate Memories, a function that allows you to save your Snaps on your device (Reel) or cloud (Memories):
- Open your profile and press the gear icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
- Go to Features (Android) or My account and select
- Go to Where to save.
- In the Save button option, configure the folder where your Snaps will be saved. And, to save copies of your videos and photos on your device, select Memories and device, or Only to the device if you do not want your data to be saved in the cloud.
- For the My History Publications option, select Memories. This configuration will save you from having to save each publication manually.
As for your personal conversations , you will have to press Save every time you send a Snap that you would like to keep.
2. Download photos and videos from Memories
If you want to leave Snapchat now, but you have been saving your Snaps in Memories, download your favorite photos to your device. In the iOS application, you can do it in one go.
- Go to Memories.
- Tap the box in the upper right corner.
- Select the Snaps you want to download.
- Press the arrow that appears at the bottom of the screen.
- Select Save.
And on Android:
- Access Memories.
- Press the photo to download it.
- Select Export snap.
- Click Reel.
3. Contact support service
Are you interested in more than just photos? You can also contact the Snapchat support service and request all the information they have available: the history of the songs identified with Shazam, the Bitmoji avatars, the photos and videos that you saved in Memories (if any), among others. The support team will consider your request and send you what you ask for.
4. Obtain a file with the data collected by Snapchat
If you want to review the history of your activity on Snapchat, a list of conversations, logins, and others, you can request this information from the social network.
This is what you will get:
- History of your authorizations, purchases, locations, searches, and much more.
- A file with your conversations.
- Your profile data, friends, and subscription information.
- Your Bitmoji avatars.
All this will come in a single ZIP file that you can keep as a souvenir, but, for this, you must have an email address associated with your account. You do not have it? Pay attention:
- Tap the icon for your profile picture located in the upper left corner of the app.
- Open Settings by clicking on the gear icon in the upper right corner.
- Select Email.
- Enter your email and press Save.
- Open your email, look for the Snapchat message and tap Confirm email.
Do you have an email associated with your account? You can request the file immediately. If you prefer to do it through the application:
- Open your profile and tap the gear icon in the upper right corner of the screen.
- Scroll to Privacy (Android) or Account Actions (iOS) and select My information.
- Enter your login credentials and password.
- Read the list of data that will be sent to you in the file and press Send request.
If you request the file through the browser interface:
- Go to https://accounts.snapchat.com and log in with your credentials on the website.
- Click on My information.
- Read the list of data to be sent in the file and click Submit Request.
In any case, after a while, you will find a ZIP file with your data in your confirmed email account.
Now you know how to get rid of your Snapchat account. That’s all, I assume now you wouldn’t keep looking for detoxifying yourself from the digital dependency of the Snapchat platform. Although we have covered all main parts of this article, there is a no different procedure for how to delete Snapchat account permanently on android and how to delete the Snapchat account in the iPhone, because it is necessary to follow all those steps in the browser of your device.