Ex-Cricketer Gautam Gambhir May Be BJP Candidate From New Delhi

Ex-Cricketer Gautam Gambhir may compete as a Delhi BJP candidate for the April-May national election. The 37-year-old may compete, say sources, from the prestigious constituency of New Delhi currently held by Meenakshi Lekhi of the party. He is a Rajinder Nagar resident who falls within the electoral district.

Meenakshi Lekhi can be accommodate in one of the capital’s other constituencies, representing seven seats in Lok Sabha, a member of 545.

So far, Cricketer Gautam Gambhir has been uncommitted to joining politics, having recently been awarded the Padma Sri.

Cricketer Gautam Gambhir was a prominent campaigner in Punjab’s Amritsar for Union Minister Arun Jaitley’s 2014 contest; Arun Jaitley lost the election to Congress’s Amarinder Singh, now Punjab’s chief minister.

Gautam Gambhir May Be BJP Candidate

After a 15-year stint in December, the former India opening batsman retired from cricket. In addition to appearing as a commentator, he now runs a community kitchen.

With strong comments on contemporary politics and incidents, his social media posts raised speculation that he would soon “start a new innings” to quote a cliché used in many headlines. His Twitter account is full of posts on the Pulwama terror attack in which a suicide bomber from Pakistan-based Jaish-e-Mohammed killed 40 soldiers. He recently promised the soldiers ‘ children educational support. He was also extremely critical of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) of Arvind Kejriwal, which governs Delhi.

But sources from BJP suggest he may be the ace the party will introduce in Delhi, set for a three-way contest with the AAP and Congress failing to form an alliance to take on the BJP.

After winning all seven seats in Delhi in 2014, the BJP saw the rise of AAP, which won the state elections and reduced the ruling party to a miniscule three in the Delhi assembly of 70-seat.

If he joins politics, the crowded path of cricketers-turned politicians such as Kirti Azad, Mohammad Azharuddin, Navjot Sidhu and Mohammad Kaif will be followed by Gautam Gambhir.

Delhi is going to vote next month’s election on May 12. The seven-round election results will announce on May 23.