The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) released its’ Sankalp Patra’ or manifesto on Monday at the party headquarters in the national capital days ahead of the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections. With its motto ‘ Sabka Sath, Sabka Vikas,’ the Sankalp Patra aims to focus on development and national security issues. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP chief Amit Shah and Rajnath Singh launched their apex body of the New Delhi Manifesto together with members of the BJP’s parliamentary board.

BJP promises to repeal Article 35 A in its Sankalp Patra in its manifesto. “We are committed to repealing Article 370 and annulling Article 35A of the Indian Constitution as the provision discriminates against non-permenant Jammu & Kashmir residents and women. Article 35A is a barrier to development,” stated BJP Sankalp Patra.

Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh said at the launch of the much-awaited manifesto, ‘ With all our promises made in this manifesto, we are taking a step towards building a ‘ New India. ‘ Talking about the threat of terrorism, Singh said, ‘ We had a zero tolerance policy towards terrorism, it will continue until terror is completely eliminated.’

The Home Minister added that both houses will pass the Citizenship Amendment Bill and BJP is commit to preserving states ‘ cultural identities. Meanwhile, BJP President Amit Shah says the party is going forward with 75 resolutions to be fulfill by 2022 when India completes 75 years of independence.

The Key Points in the Sankalp Patra BJP 2019 Manifesto:

Senior BJP leader Arun Jaitley unveiled campaign themes and other materials from the party’s election campaign on Sunday, with the tag line being “Phir ek baar, Modi sarkar (Modi government, again). The release of the BJP manifesto comes days after a slew of measures promise by the Congress party, especially for the country’s poor.

The BJP said this year in January that the party is going to crowdsource its manifesto for the 2019 Lok Sabha election. It had also said that over the next few months it will hold events across the country to get input from various sets of voters for the purpose.

Union ministers Arun Jaitley, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Nirmala Sitharaman, Thaaawarchand Gehlot, Piyush Goyal, and Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi were part of the 20-member manifesto committee. It also had among its member’s former chief minister of Madhya Pradesh, Shivraj Singh Chouhan, deputy chief minister of Bihar, Sushil Modi, his counterpart of Uttar Pradesh, Keshav Prasad Maurya.

On April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19, polling for Lok Sabha polls will take place in seven phases. The vote count will be on May 23, 2019.